The Hundred: England and international stars are retained for the 2023 tournament

A split image of Smriti Mandhana and Nat Sciver-Brunt shooting
Indian opener Smriti Mandhana (left) signed from Royal Challengers Bangalore for £340,000 in the Women’s Premier League auction while Nat Sciver-Brunt joined Mumbai Indians for £320,000

The men’s and women’s teams of The Hundred have announced which players they have retained for the 2023 competition.

Thirteen of 18 England men’s players with central contracts remain with their teams, including Test captain Ben Stokes at Northern Superchargers.

Smriti Mandhana, the most expensive player the Women’s Premier League Auctionis retained by Southern Brave.

Nat Sciver-Brunt, the joint most expensive foreign player in the WPL auction, remains with Trent Rockets.

England white-ball captain Jos Buttler of Manchester Originals and former Trent Rockets captain Joe Root are also among the centrally-signed England players to keep.

England women’s captain Heather Knight, who has been forced to withdraw from the 2022 competition through injury, returns to London Spirit.

A total of 113 players have been retained across the eight teams as of 2022, with most of the remaining 135 spots being filled in the Hundred Draft on March 23, which will include the women’s competition for the first time.

Men’s champions Trent Rockets were among six of the eight men’s teams to retain the 10-player maximum allowed, including England T20 World Cup winners Dawid Malan and Alex Hales.

Women’s champions Oval Invincibles retained their maximum of four legal players, including England’s Alice Capsey and South African all-rounder Marizanne Kapp.

The English women’s trio Sophia Dunkley, Danni Wyatt and Kate Cross was not taken over and is therefore available in the draft.

Among the men, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell are among those who have not been nominated, while among the women Laura Wolvaardt, Megan Schutt and Beth Mooney have been dismissed.

A final list of players available for the Hundred Draft will be confirmed on February 28th.

The women’s teams will add four more players via the draft, with the rest of their 15-man rosters to be decided in an open market process.

Each men’s team can build a 13-man roster in the draft, with two additional wild card picks.

Welsh Fire receive first pick in both drafts, run in reverse order of 2022 finishing positions.

Former Australian batsman Mike Hussey replaces Gary Kirsten as Welsh Fire coach after the Cardiff-based franchise went winless in 2022.

All matches this season are double-headers, with Trent Rockets and Southern Brave opening the tournament on August 1 at Trent Bridge.

Who was retained?

team Players (overseas in bold, each team allows three)
Birmingham Phoenix Chris Woakes, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Shadab Khan, Adam MilneBenny Howell, Will Smeed, Kane RichardsonTom Helm, Chris Benjamin, Dan Mousley
London spirit Markus Holz, Glen Maxwell, Nathan EllisLiam Dawson, Dan Lawrence, Zak Crawley, Jordan Thompson, Mason Crane, Adam Rossington, Chris Wood, Ravi Bopara
Manchester Originals Jos Butler, Wanindu HasarangaPhil Salt, Jamie Overton, Tom Hartley, Richard Gleeson, Paul Walter, Josh LittleWayne Madsen, Tom Lammonby, Mitchell Stanley
Superchargers from the north Ben Stokes, Adil Rashid, Harry Brook, Adam Lyth, Adam Hose, Brydon Carse, Matthew Potts, David Meadow, Wayne ParellCallum Parkinson
Oval Invincibles Sam Curran, Sunil NarinWill Jacks, Jason Roy, Tom Curran, Sam Billings, Saqib Mahmood, Jordan Cox, Gus Atkinson, Danny Briggs, Nathan Sowter
Southern Brave Jofra Archer, James Vince, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Rehan Ahmed, Craig Overton, Finn AllenGeorge Garton, James Fuller, Alex Davies, and Joe Weatherley
Trent missiles joe root, Rashid KhanDawid Malan, Alex Hales, Lewis Gregory, Luke Wood, Colin Munrosam cook, Daniel SamsSamit Patel, Matt Carter
Welsh fire Jonny Bairstow, Joe Clarke, Ollie Pope, David Payne, Jake Ball, George Scrimshaw
team Players (overseas in bold, each team allows three)
Birmingham Phoenix amy jones, Elly PerryIssy Wong, Emily Arlott
London spirit Heath Knight, Amelie KerrCharlie Dean, Danielle Gibson
Manchester Originals sophie ecclestone, Deandra DottinEmma Lamb, Ellie Threlkeld
Superchargers from the north Alyssa HealyLinsey Smith, Hollie Armitage, and Bess Heath
Oval Invincibles Marizanne KapAlice Capsey, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Tash Farrant
Southern Brave Smriti MandhanaLauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Freya Kemp
Trent missiles Nat Sciver Brunt, Katherine Sciver Brunt, Alan KingBryony Smith
Welsh fire Tammy Beaumont, Hayley Matthews, Annabel Sutherland

Above the BBC bannerVia the BBC footer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *