Marcus Ericsson wins the crash-dominated race in St. Petersburg

The NTT IndyCar Series kicked off the 2023 season with a bang — or more accurately, a cascade of crashes — at Sunday’s Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

In a race that saw Andretti Autosport teammates Devlin DeFrancesco and Kyle Kirkwood both blown up in separate serious accidents that ended DeFrancesco’s day and spanned almost half of the 27-car field, the season opener was a day of Attrition.

In the end, it was Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Ericsson, the 2022 Indianapolis 500 winner, who took the checkered flag for his fourth career IndyCar win at the street circuit in St. Petersburg, Fla.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *