Any driver who has won the NASCAR race

The Daytona 500 has bred kings, launched championship dynasties, cemented legacies and shone the spotlight on relatively unknown people.

The “Great American Race” was run 64 times, with Petty family patriarch Lee Petty taking the first checkered flag of the Daytona 500 in 1959. His son, Richard “The King” Petty, holds the record for most Daytona 500 victories and won the first of his seven Harley J. Earl trophies in 1964.

Five other drivers have won NASCAR’s premier event at least three times: Cale Yarborough (four), Bobby Allison (three), Dale Jarrett (three), Jeff Gordon (three) and Denny Hamlin (three).

Jimmie Johnson, who won twice, started a streak of five consecutive Cup Series championships after winning the race in 2006, while his 2013 Daytona triumph kickstarted a season that led to his sixth Cup title at the end of the year (Johnson added later adding a record-breaking seventh cup championship in 2016).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *